To learn more about how your talents can serve the church, please contact the committee leaders below!

Board of Trustees

Learn, discuss, vote. The primary body of governance in the church, elected by the voting members of our congregation. For information on the activities and accomplishments of the Board, contact Chair Chris Hannauer at chris@hannauer.net.

Care Core

Support church members and friends in need, share community resources, and visit those who would like a friendly call. To join the listserv or submit a request for help from the Steering Committee, contact gethelp@uucuc.org

Committee on Ministry

Support the ministry of the church and the minister. To see how you can help, contact Jeff Unger, Chair, at jsunger@gmail.com

Denominational Affairs

Learn about the wider world of UU congregations! Contact David Gross (DLGeology@aol.com) and Claudia Gross (Claudiag44@aol.com) to begin building regional and nationwide connections.

Finance Committee

Money talks; if you too speak the language of dollars and cents and like to balance budgets, consider helping monitor the church’s financial resources. Get meeting dates and times from Chair Tanja Hodges at thodg01s@gmail.com

Kitchen Keepers

One kitchen with hundreds of mouths to feed and hands to keep busy. Organize dishes and wash linens with our lead Keeper Elaine Rockett... just email erockett1@sbcglobal.net

Leadership Committee

Support the development of leaders within the church by ensuring leaderships experiences are fulfilling and rewarding to both the community and the individual. Bill Childers, Chair, can lead you to the next meeting if you just ask: wchilder57@gmail.com

Mediation Committee

Help resolve issues of congregational safety and behavior. Contact Walt McMahon at wmcmahon@illinois.edu

Membership Committee

Welcome visitors and new members, provide ways for members and visitors to both develop and strengthen connections, and develop a sense of community in our congregation! Find out how by contacting Co-Chairs Peggy Patten (m-patten@sbcglobal.net) and Karen Retzer (karenfooteretzer@yahoo.com). 

Music Committee

Help facilitate and diversify the various music-related activities within the church. Contact Sarah Wisseman to share your musical forte today: music-committee@uucuc.org.

Partner Church Committee

Develop long-term, mutually supportive relationships with our fellow UUs in Transylvania, Romania as well as the Khasi Hills of India. Led by Brigitte Pieke (brigittepieke@hotmail.com). You are invited to view a video if you'd like: Partner Church Video

Personnel Committee

Oversee and guide the management of all lay staff of the church. Find out how to help; contact Kathleen Holden at kholden@illinois.edu

Property Committee

This old building is a lovely sight; keep it that way by managing the upkeep of its furnishings, equipment, and grounds. Lend your hands and expertise to Chair Jerry Carden (jcarden@illinois.edu). 

Religious Education Committee

Support the church’s Religious Education programs for both our youth and our adults. Offer ideas for summer camp, become a teacher, enroll your child, or offer general feedback through the Religious Education director at re-director@uucuc.org

Service Auction

Plan, set up, tear down, and all-around coordinate the annual auction of members’ goods and services. It’s a big job, but someone has to do it! If you’re up to the task of putting on the church’s largest fundraising event of the year, contact Bill Childers (wchilders57@gmail.com). 

Social Action Committee

Take action on timely social justice issues and support community service activities. Get involved or pass along ideas for future activities by contacting acting chair Jim Hannum at jwhannum@gmail.com

Stewardship Committee

Manage development and congregational giving; contact Emily Laugesen (emilyslaugesen@yahoo.com). 

Worship Committee

Plan for and even lead a Sunday worship service once per month from September to June, all while involving members of the congregation in developing and leading worship.  Contact Amanda Ramey at amanda.m.ramey@gmail.com for more information or to offer your ideas for future services.